04
Dec
09

CJH Abstracts Newsletter, Issue 5

Issue 5

December 4, 2009

Abstract Expressionism:  Jackson Pollock (1912 – 1956)

How could I not feature Jackson Pollock in my newsletter.

Jackson Pollock’s early work is characteristic of American romantic realism of the 1930.  He was also attracted to Mexican muralists such as Diego Rivera.  These murals were thought to be the inspiration for his later, larger paintings.

Pollock became the central figure of American Abstract Expressionism.  His achievement was an important contribution to the rise of modern American painting and his early death in a road accident has added a legendary character to his reputation.  He painted his first “drip painting” (in which the painting was allowed to fall from the brush or vessel onto a canvas laid on the floor) in 1947 and this lead to “action painting”.  The form of his very large canvases was not preconceived and only emerged during the act of execution.

Here’s a fun experiment for you to try:

http://www.jacksonpollock.org/.  Click on enter site, then click your left mouse button and create your own Pollock!  It changes colors when you click your left mouse button and is lots of fun.  A friend shared this on Facebook and I have had fun with it ever since.

Featured Artist:  Inge Strack, Richmond, VA

Inge is another gem I met via the Internet; this time on Facebook via a mutual friend.  Besides her wicked sense of humor, she is a great artist.

In her own words:

“My paintings consist of bold colors and a deep sense of emotion.  I often paint with a limited palette, rather focusing on brushstrokes, texture and form to find a balance.  I am drawn to the drama and the pain connecting us all in our humanity and strive to create beauty out of the most difficult circumstances.

I am not attempting to abstract the physical world; I am trying to get to the person behind the mask.  Edvard Munch said:  “Nature is not only all that is visible to the eye.  It also includes the inner pictures of the soul.”  I draw my subject matter from inside of myself hoping to create a constant conversation between the viewer and the painting, especially since abstracts do not seem to answer but ask.”

She has been featured in shows around the world.

I encourage you to visit her web site to view more of her magnificent work.

What I’ve Been Up to Lately:

Last month at my church we had a service focused on different creative expressions of what God means to us.  My painting, titled “Awakening”, done in 2003, was featured on display.

I provided tempera paints to use, and the church provided the thick paper.  The kids were especially fond of this exercise.

Something for you to play around with:

Draw a Pig Personality Test

Poem of the Month:

I am left

At the end of a night

At the start of me

Following a weekend

Of transformation

To my better self

Conquest

Again and again

Over my brittle but loyal heart

Flashing of souls

Passion of past & present

Spent & flourished

With the inner stream

Consciousness

I flow

And flaunt

Insecurities and wishes

Tomorrow approaches

But I am still

Whole

And shattered into bliss

Picking up the pieces

To assemble them

Again

To give back to you

Over and over

Until my and mine

Are yours

cjh

October 2004

celeste@cjhabstracts.com

www.cjhabstracts.com

https://celestejheery.wordpress.com/


0 Responses to “CJH Abstracts Newsletter, Issue 5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


December 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031